52 States in 8 Months

Do not waste your money on “Try-It-Racing”.

Posted in Stupidities by Ulf on April 30, 2009

old_dominion_speedway_manassas_panorama
During the Washington Auto Show in February Alex and I met a chap called Soloman who convinced us to get whelen_americansome racing experience with “Try it Racing“. On April 19th we finally went to the Old Dominion Speedway in Manassas, Virginia. This is one of about 60 tracks nationwide that are used for the weekly “NASCAR All-American Series“, the lowest level of racing which uses the NASCAR label (“National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing”).

bild8331

Now, Alex and I paid about 180€ each for driving around the 3/8 mile oval 15 times on our own, and afterwards being taken around the track another five times by a professional racing driver. Now, as you can already guess from the headline, this was not the adrenaline filled experience which they promised (please don’t be confused by my “thumbs up” gesture on the next picture — that was before the racing).

bild8309 bild8320

So, let’s start with our own 15 laps driving. Driving they 355 cubic inch V8s was very simple. The clutch works just like in any other car, and you only have two gears: first gear for starting the car, and a second gear for driving it. Yes, really! It sounds stupid, but that’s it! Obviously these race cars were not designed to make use of the power which the engine could have offered. Then, what was the “racing” itself like? You start you car and continue driving behind the pace car for 15 laps.
img_1921
They told us that one bend of the oval would be tighter than the other one, but that was a completely useless information: since the pace car was going very slowly we hardly felt any centrifugal forces. Therefore we really didn’t have to worry about the curve radius. To give you an impression of how boring the whole thing was: I never ever had to use the brakes during the whole event! My pace car never allowed me to go anywhere near full throttle, and somewhere in the middle of the straight it already started to decelerate. The engine drag was enough not to keep me away from rushing into the pace car. Come on, racing without brakes, what is that? Seriously: my weekly trips to the Kaufland in Stuttgart (a local supermarket) were more exciting than our “Try It Racing”!

img_1941
The ride-along was a little better. Michael Southard (he was on position 188 in the 2008 All-American series) showed us that their cars can in fact go around the track fast enough to produce some lateral forces, and he even had to use the brake a few times. Still, I was taken around the Porsche test track in Weissach in either a 911 Carrera S or a 911 Turbo by some Porsche research engineers (I’ve forgotten which car it was). That joyride was free and much better than Mike Southard’s ride-along. When I was working for GETRAG we also took the Ferrari California from Heilbronn to Würzburg on the A81 which also was more thrilling than the Try it Racing.

From analyzing my video material I concluded that we averaged 75mph during the ride-along and roughly 55mph when we drove on our own. How boring is that? There are normal roads in some states where the local authorities encourage you to drive 80. And on the Autobahn, the officially recommended speed is 81 mph.

Before I forget it, an advice to all Internationals: Mike Southard (who apparently runs “Try It Racing”) really isn’t easy to understand on the phone. He is mumbling all the time, and only after asking him three times what he said he opens his mouth and suddenly speaks English.

Now, some doubts about the professionalism of “Try It Racing”:

  • I did not see any safety stewards around the track. So if I had an accident, well, I don’t know what would have happened. I hope my crash would have had been louder than the engines at the grid, but I’m not sure about that.
  • I did not see any fire extinguishers at the grid. Therefore even if I had witnessed an accident of another driver, I’m not sure if I would have had been able to help him.
  • I did not see any fire extinguishers in the racing cars.
  • During the drivers briefing we were not told how to get out of the car in an emergency. That means that we’ve never trained to open our seat belt, we’ve never trained to open the window net, and worst of all: When I tried to get out of the car I realized that I did not even know how to remove the steering wheel, so there was no way of leaving the car! From a safety perspective, “Try it racing” is probably one of the most dangerous things I ever did.

img_1930

And now about the power itself. Since these cars do not have rev limiters it’s pretty much impossible to quantify the maximal engine power. Soloman told us something about 600 horse power, and on the track they said something about 400hp. Now, let me calculate an upper bound on the power we’ve actually used:
four_stroke_cycle_compressionTheir V8 engines have a displacement of 355 cubic inch which is 0.0058 m3 (a little less than 6 liters). I’m pretty sure they don’t have any turbo chargers and only use air instead of NOx for burning the fuel. That means that they can only burn 0.0058 m3 of air with every two engine revolutions. Assuming that the throttle valve is fully open (not true, I was never close to full throttle), the intake pressure could be close to 1 bar. That means that I could have burned n=pV/RT= 100000 N/m2 · 0.0058 m3 / (8.314472 J/K/mol) / 300K = 0.232 moles of air in the engine with every two rotations (if I would have completely pressed the gas pedal). Since air weights about 0.029kg/mol, that is about 0.0067kg of air. At an air ratio of about 14:1 I can burn about 0.00048 kg of fuel with every two engine rotations at full throttle, which releases about 43 MJ/kg of heat. That is about 20 kJ of energy per two rotations, or (assuming an engine efficiency of 30%) roughly 3400 J per engine rotation. Now, this is a new information: we did not have a speedometer in the car, but we could see the engine revs. We never made more than 3000rpm which is 50rps. That is 170000 J/s=170kW=230hp. And please keep in mind: t_cycle_ottoI did not consider any losses yet besides the heat-to-work conversion efficiency of 30%, and also I assumed that the throttle valve is completely open which is nowhere near the truth. And during most of the laps we were well below 3000rpm, so that also makes it an overestimate. If you want to hear a serious guess: We used about 50-80hp. Alex guesses it was even less.
What they call a racing car might look like one from the outside, and it might also sound like one since they did not bother to put on any real silencers. But when it comes to the engine power, you’re better of if you take any street with a real gear box (which allows you to always keep the engine revs somewhere close to the red line). It doesn’t even have to be an M3. I could have taken my Audi 80 for keeping up with the pace car! When they say something about 400hp, they’re simply lying.

One last blame on Try It Racing: While we were there Mike made doughnuts with two of the passengers during their ride-alongs. Well, I also asked him for one, but he refused. He said he wanted to save his tires for a child which has his birthday or something. Sorry Mike — I guess I paid no less than this child, and I’m also a customer who wants to be satisfied. And you did not manage to come close to anything of what you promised! But your not driving a doughnut with me makes it even easier for me to ask any potential Try It Racing customer not to waste their money!
bild8325

So, to conclude this: Try It Racing claims that they “offer an experience of a lifetime”. They do indeed. But the experience has nothing to do with racing, it is the experience of having tossed money out of the window.
If you really want to have fun, go to some Go-Kart track. It’s cheaper, much more fun and way safer!

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tommy said, on April 30, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    sorry for you guys. seems mike thinks that “an experience of a lifetime” is an experience that is so disappointing that you only do it once in your life, and never again. … wonder how long it takes til the word spreads. or maybe it has already spread and that’s why he needs guys like soloman talking crap about 600hp. … whatever. i really liked you upper bound estimation. :D …
    .
    (p.s. do you mind if i ask try-it-racing for a response on that. i really think it’s a nice summary of everything they’re doing wrong and i’m super curious what they have to say.)

  2. Ulf said, on April 30, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Sure, of course you can try to contact them. However, if you plan to contact them by e-mail, I’m pretty sure you won’t get an answer. Actually, they replied to only one of four mails I sent. And they called me back once, so that makes two answers. I had to ring them up for all further questions I had before the “racing” (like asking for the “when” and the “where”).

  3. scytale said, on April 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I’m not really familiar with NASCAR, but when I saw some pieces at my brothers place on TV, I also had the feeling to get bored very fast from hundreds of cars driving around an easy track (oval/circle, don’t know) hundreds of times. Propably the most “exciting” thing are multiple smash-ups… ;)
    Anyway nice description.

  4. Ulf said, on April 30, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Wow, Tommy, I guess you really wrote to them! I’ve just discovered that someone visited my blog with “webmail.aol.com” in their HTTP referrer field. Now, let’s find out if we hear something from them.

  5. try it racing said, on April 30, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy your experience at Try It Racing. We strive to make every experience for all our customers a thrill. Obviously, we realize we can’t please everyone all the time. Our motive for the past 7 years has been to give a fun, enjoyable and SAFE time experiencing driving a “real” race car. Safety comes FIRST. If you were looking to crash a race car, you came to the wrong place. With your safety conscious mind–tell me did you and your friend take your rental cars to the dragstrips and do what you asked me if you were allowed to do, without any safety personnal in place?
    All of our cars are equipped with haline fire system. The system is located behind the driver’s seat and the pull pin is mounted right beside the driver. ( You can see the cable in your photo.)
    As for the tech-bull, call me redneck but none of that means jack–if you are afraid to put your foot on the gas.
    The motors in the race cars are 606 GM Crate- Racing Motors. The cars have a TCI 2 speed power glide racing transmission. (NOTE: Their so violent that you have to use a clutch to start and stop them.) We do not have them governed. They redline at 6200 RPM. (450hp at the wheels, do the math and find out what the HP is at the back of the motor.) They weigh 2300 pounds, that is 1/3 lighter than the Old Dominion race-cars that race on Saturday night with the same motors. I could get into a TIR race-car and set a track record. We could then put you in the same car and you would not come anywhere close to that.
    As we advertise you can go as fast as you can or as slow as you want. If you would have listen / pay attention you would have stayed 2 to 3 car length behind our pace-car. You would have seen faster times, not 8 to 10 car lengths as seen in your photo. You were not close enough for us to safely allow you to go faster while keeping control of your car. Again our goal is SAFETY first. Case in point, as per your picture the lead car was up against the fence, ARE YOU?!
    I invite you and your friend to come back out and this time listen to our guy giving you the instruction. We give instruction and guidelines twice. Keep in mind, it may help if your helmets off until you get in the race-car. Pay attention to what he is showing to you. Also keep in mind, that we have had 2 accidents in the last 7 years from “know it alls” not listening to our instructions. Thank god you were not #3. We do it for a reason–and the reason is Safety. We offer anyone else reading this a $100 off any drive package plus donuts on the ride-along ride for your cowardly post to come out and see for themselves. I look forward to the potential customers willing to see for themselves. I can be reached at 703-368-3232, during normal business hours of 10am – 6pm eastern standard time.
    Thank you
    Mike

  6. Martin said, on May 1, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Now I’m curios how long it takes till you blog is down and you have a free visit to Guantanamo. I mean, it’s not the “The Land of the free (to sue anybody for anything)” for now reason. Let us know when you have contact to there lawyer.

  7. try it racing said, on May 1, 2009 at 9:02 am

    whats the matter / didnt like what the last guy had to say / to late i copied it / i will be on this 24 / 7 collecting / been here won that / thats a better story than you being SCARED of the gas pedal

  8. Ulf said, on May 1, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Thank you Mike for answering. This was really a pleasant surprise!
    Now, for all other readers, a short explanation on both Martin’s comment and Mike’s response: When Martin wrote his comment, he couldn’t know that Mike had written his initial reply since Mike’s first comment was still under moderation until early this morning. Now, when I saw that Martin wrote a comment which would appear after Mike’s, I wanted to give Martin a chance to remove it, therefore I temporarily hid it. At this point you can once again read everything what has been said on this blog.

    Martin: I’d appreciate having a free trip to Guantanamo. Please remember that I’m trying to see as many states as possible within these 8 months, and Cuba would definitely be a new state. And I might even count Guantanamo, too: I mean, it doesn’t belong to the Republic of Cuba, and at least the former US administration denied that it would belong to the area of US legislation.

    Now to Mike, let’s break it down a bit:

    - Yes, I do also see this fire system when I look at the picture now. What does it do? Will it pinch off the fuel line, or will it also release some fire extinguisher system installed in the car? Please include that in future safety briefings, but more importantly, tell people how to remove the steering wheel so that they’re not trapped in the car!

    - About the actual power of your cars: Agreed, if you take the engine to 6200rpm, then my calculation will result in an upper bound of 475hp with full throttle and a redlined engine. Now, that fits to what you say. But keep in mind, my point was that we were told to stay in 2nd gear which yields engine revs of 3000rpm at most at our track speed. But basically this doesn’t really matter because the important point is the next one.

    - About the distance between the pace car and me. Yes, that was actually something which I was seriously thinking about during my “racing”. Now, the guy who gave the two safety briefings told us about the desired distance to the lead car. He even mentioned some number of “car lengths” (might be even two or three, I don’t remember). The thing is that I asked him how I could estimate my distance when I’m in the car. I think it’s very hard to estimate the distance in terms of “car lengths” if you’re sitting on a driver’s seat. Now, this might have been the point which went wrong during our “racing”: The instructor (it was the friendly fellow who also originated from Germany) told us to stay about half the length of a straight away from the pace car. Looking at Google Maps, a straight seems to be about 300ft long which gives a desired distance of about 45m to the pace car. That should explain why I kept a distance of “8 to 10 car lengths”.
    Besides clarifying this in the briefing (it should be “less than a quarter of a straight” then), can you somehow establish radio communication to the pace car? Or is that impossible due to the engine noise? The helmet I got did at least have a speaker integrated. I mean, I wanted to go a lot faster — I was told not to race the pace car but to stay behind it at a given distance, so that’s just what I did. Damn, if I could have just made this pace car go faster! Maybe some communication during the racing would really be beneficial. One way communication might be okay, like telling the drivers something like “We now consider it as safe to drive faster, so if you want to go faster, please decrease the distance to your pace car. It will accelerate then.”

    - As you can see on the picture where I’m waiting in the car, I actually had my helmet off during the briefing, and I only put it on when I was in the car. I understood everything during the two safety briefings. However, I didn’t hear things which were not said.

    I very much appreciate your offer to do donuts with future customers!
    This is something which they really can’t get on a Go-Kart track, at least not on the ones I know.

  9. Ulf said, on May 1, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Oh, one more thing for Martin:
    Actually, it is my impression that I have the same freedom of speech here in the USA as I have in Germany, so I guess I won’t get a free ride to Guantanamo after all. The USA is still pretty much like any European country. I really wouldn’t have expected it to be this way.

    If you’re looking for a way to get into legal problems you might consider drinking alcohol in public, entering a bar without an ID or speeding. That’s the only three things which pop up in my mind if I have to think about legal restrictions in the US that I was not familiar with before. Now, all these things won’t give me a free holiday in Guantanamo, so it doesn’t really make sense to break the law here.

  10. Martin said, on May 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    You know me, playing with stereotypes is just soooo tempting. I just couldn’t resist. :) (And I forgot a smile in the post before, for all the people that don’t know me and have less of a chance to get the not seriousness in comments like this 0:) )

  11. Tommy said, on May 3, 2009 at 6:32 am

    wow! i’ve been absent for only three days and you discussed the whole thing out!
    what a wonderful example of how important feedback is! :)
    i believe that even though mike seemed to be a little bit offended, he appreciated to get such a deep insight into an unsatisfied customer’s thoughts.
    .
    as for me, if i had such a try-it-racing business, my highest priority would be safety, too. so that’s where i agree with both mike and ulf. however, the second most important thing is a SATISFIED CUSTOMER (i think you both agreed) and therefore it is crucial that a misunderstanding as the one above needs to be AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS! (NO MATTER IF the customer is a good or a bad listener, an international or a local, can estimate car lengths or not*) and that’s where your crew FAILED, mike.
    .
    the bottom line is, install radio communication or a green and a red light in the rear window of the pace car or whatever is even cheaper than that …
    .
    praise the feedback loop! ;)
    tommy
    .
    *(it’s completely irrelevant, whether ulf is the one or the other. if i pay that much money, i rely on the company to extinct the potential sources of misunderstandings and disappointment.)

  12. Heather Brooks said, on October 3, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I’m so glad that you posted this and had the response from the company. I bought an “Extreme Driving Experience” from “Try it Racing.” We haven’t gone yet, but I definitely know to follow the pace car more closely.

  13. jelliebean said, on October 15, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I was a visitor at tryitracing on October 2, 2011 and witnessed a tire blow out and the driver had a serious accident. Earlier in the day some other spectator mentioned the tire on the same car that blew the tire. This customer of Tryitracing is in serious condition in the hospital. Please beware. I would not recommend TryitRacing just because of safety concerns.
    Thanks,
    jelliebean

  14. rich said, on October 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    agree 100% . We had a 11 am appt on 10.16.2011 arrived at 1045 am. We were delayed until 330 pm when they said that the cars were broken and they were unable to fix it.

    they over book and do not have enough cars or drivers.

    Owner was unpleasant . He had a if you dont like it leave mentality We already have your money.

  15. jelliebean said, on October 20, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    If there was anyone else at TryitRacing on Oct 2, and saw the accident please send me an email at jelliebean71587@cox.net.

  16. Sandy said, on December 17, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Just bought the extreme racing package for my fiance as a christmas gift. I truly hope I did not make a bad decision. Can anyone give me any recent feedback. I know you can’t please everyone but after reading these postings, I am a little scared.

  17. Tom C said, on February 3, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    jellybean, could you contact me at http://www.commonwealthduediligency.com concerning your oct 2011 post, i would like to speak with “Ulf84″ anyone know how to contact him please let me know

  18. Carrie said, on March 9, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I’m scheduled for my racing experience this Sunday. Eek, I hope it’s better than what I’m reading here!

  19. Tom C said, on March 12, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    How was it, Did you enjoy it , Was it diffucult for you

  20. Carrie said, on March 12, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    I have to say, I had a freakin’ awesome time! I was there for about 3 1/2 hours and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has a need for speed! It isn’t for people who are uptight and smug, and can’t handle hanging out talking with other people for a while when waiting for your turn. The sights and sounds are a lot of fun to take in, in addition to the driving and riding. All in all, I think it’s what you make of it! -Carrie

  21. tom c said, on April 7, 2012 at 11:04 am

    jellybean are you still out there your e mail got kicked back as invalid

  22. Rob Hindt said, on April 17, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    First, I would like to say “Thank You” to Carrie for posting about your experience. We normally see over 40 happy, satisfied people at nearly every event. However, there are times that the wait exceeds expectations or we are unable to get everyone in. And to use an old cliche “you can’t please everyone”. The unfortunate part is that, if you did not have a good time for some reason, you are dramatically more likely to post about it, to the tune of about 9 to 1. We work very hard to provide you with an experience you will fondly remember for a lifetime. I think Carrie found that out and I think think you will too when you come out. I would also ask that those who have enjoyed their experience to please share it with the on-line community so people have a more balanced view. Thank You to all of our past , present and future customers!

  23. brian hibell said, on April 29, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    poor management and equipment behind schedule by 2 hours hidden fees. go somewhere else

  24. brian hibell said, on April 29, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    also i forgot to mention the 130 miles an hour is bullshit

  25. Tanya said, on May 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I bought the drive experiance through Living Social for my husband. He had his drive/ride today 5/27/12. He was scheduled for 10am so we showed up at 0930 thinking we’d be ahead of the game. Unfortunately they did not even start taking the 9am drivers until 1030 so we had a wait. Upon checking in we were told that for the Living Social deals (and other discounts as well) we’d have to pay an additional $30 service charge. I was prepared to pay the tax and knew it was not included in the Living Social deal but it also turned out that most of that service charge was for a mandatory gratuity. I come from the school of thought that gratuity is for exemplory service and not for just doing your job. We were also presented with an optional insurance fee to cover damage to the car. This cost should have been disclosed in the Living Social deal and explained fully on the TryIt racing website, it as far as I can tell is not listed on either. So, on top of what we had already paid we were asked to pay $70 on the day of the event.

    The husband says he had fun but I’m sure he is saying that to spare my feelings. In doing the math we’re pretty sure he never got above 45mph. He found it difficult to judge what 2-3 car lengths behind the pace car should be without feeling like he was going to rearend the pace car. And per the instructions in order to go faster one needed to accurately “communicate” with the pace car and well that seemed difficult to do. I like the recommendations here that some sort of radio communication be installed in the cars to make it easier for the driver to work with the pace car. Out of 8 drivers ahead of my husband there was only one driver that really seemed to be allowed to “get on it” (to use some of the other participants words) and he had disclosed earlier in the day that he had some prior driving experiance.

    The other recommendation I’d make is from a public health standpoint and that is get more helmets and neck braces so you have enough to be able to disinfect them between each persons use.

    The husband liked the ride along much more than the driving experiance. I would recommend the ride for anyone that wants an up close NASCAR experiance. But our overall experiance today does not favor a future return to TryIt Racing.

  26. Judy said, on July 11, 2012 at 7:59 am

    I did some digging and found that try it racing was purged to another business “a stock car driving experience” and according to a va governement website, that business was terminated around 2009. nothing current has been found and it looks like they do not exist. buyer beware……

  27. Tom Boy said, on August 1, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    For anyone reading this; and the above posted messages, it is not my intention to slam “Try It Racing” aka “A Stock Car Driving Experience”. However, be aware that they do not hold a current business license in the county that they operate out of nor in the state of VA. The renewal fees have never been paid, and on paper, this company has been out of business since 2009. The “tax and gratuity” that is collected at the track is pocketed by the owner and his wife. All money received by this “company” has never been reported to the IRS. It is sad that a customer of this “company” was seriously injured, and is still recovering. His life, his family’s lives will never be the same – and maybe I am not looking at it the right way, but if “Try It Racing” isn’t a legitimate business, they never should have been operating and this man never would have been injured. Maybe the monies that this “company” continues to collect should go towards the medical bills instead of lining their greedy pockets.
    So from the above comments, is safety really a concern of this “company”????????

  28. TOM C said, on August 2, 2012 at 9:25 am

    I AM CONFUSED WHEN YOU SAY THE COMPANY WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED HIS LIVES AND FAMILY HAVE NEVER BEEN THE SAME. CAN YOU HELP ME UNDERSTAND SERIOUS INJURY

  29. Rob H said, on August 4, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Unfortunately the posts above appear to be done by a disgruntled employee / ex-girlfriend. They are under investigation by police at this time. It is true that a customer had an accident and was injured while driving at one of the events and fortunately that customer is alive and well. As for Safety, this is the first and only customer that has had an injury greater than something requiring first aid (a bruise or cut). As for the “tax and gratuity”, there is a track service fee that is collected and taxes have to be paid and as with all businesses, the owners of the business do ultimately get the monies collected. It would be odd if they went to someone else. Finally, greedy seems a little odd here as Try It Racing is one of the least expensive stock car driving experiences in the country. If there is any doubt about Try It Racing, we invite you to come out to one of our many events at Old Dominion Speedway in Manassas, VA or to one of our other event facilities. You can check out our schedule at http://www.tryitracing.com . Thank You for your time. Try It Racing.

  30. debsean@earthdlink.net said, on August 29, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Tanya pretty much said everything I wanted to say. We have used Groupons, Living Social Deals and Twongo deals and have NEVER been asked to pay more money upon arrival. And what are your options once you have paid for, scheduled the drive and taken the time to get there? Refuse to pay? I have written to Living Social express my disappointment, but don’t expect any resolution based on their first response and don’t expect anything from Try It Racing. We arrived before the scheduled time of 9:00 and had to wait for the other 4 drivers scheduled for 9:00 to show up, without apologies from anyone. My husband enjoyed the drive, but Try It Racing is not very well organized or run – the racing suits and helmets were awful and the cars pretty beat up. NOT the experience we had hoped for.

  31. Jim Lusby said, on October 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    I consider myself a patient man, somtimes to a fault. My daughter bought me a Groupon for a “ride along” event. It was actually two groupons for me and a friend. So in May, my brother and I went to Old Dominion Speedway to experience this. Not good. Just before our appointed time, the ride along car broke down. We waited two hours before getting a rain check. I rescheduled for this past Sunday, 10-14-12 and when I arrived, this time alone, I felt it was not going to be a good experience again. There was no ride along car insight. When putting me name on the list for a 2:00 pm appointment, the scheduler said the car blew an engine but is expected to be there at 3:00 pm. At 4:00pm, they could not give me an extimated time of arrival, so I was out of there again and will now have to battle Groupon to get my daughter’s money back. In Short, I am not going for 3 Strikes. Avoid this outfit!!!!!!!

  32. Tom Boy said, on December 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    Because it is currently in the courts; I can only say that serious injury included head trauma. And I guess it all depends on what your definition of “alive and well” is. Again, they were not and as far as I know, still are not licensed to do business. Maybe that’s why they don’t operate as such…..as the title of this blog states “Don’t waste your money on Try It Racing”. You get what you do or don’t pay for in this case.

  33. tom c said, on December 13, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    Tom Boy, how can we contact each other , Tom C , tcollins15@cox.net is easiest

  34. crystal jones said, on March 8, 2013 at 11:21 am

    wow i was going to buy my husband this but now im def not sure…..has anyone been this yr at all and got a good experience…

  35. Arlene Krider said, on April 22, 2013 at 10:26 am

    my kids bought my husband this as a gift and I am having a hard time booking something “local” that we won’t have to pay for a weekend away and lose wages….Sorely disappointed that we will have to travel 8 hours to drive a gift car.

  36. Rich Patterson said, on August 7, 2013 at 6:17 am

    August 3, 2013. this is the second cancellation of one of their events. This one was cancelled at 8 PM the night before when all the would-be participants are typically away from their computers. Upon arrival we 8 participants shared the bad news that the “event” had been cancelled. All of us had driven hours to do this thing. Turns out that around 10 AM a fellow shows up with his son and indicates that he’d made arrangements with the track owner a week before to have the track that day. No response form these folks, no refunds, no nothing. Do not do this! Rich Patterson

  37. Tom Collins said, on August 8, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Where was this suppose to have been held, you said this was the second cancel, where and when was the first one suppose to be held. Tom Collins


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

