52 States in 8 Months

Aahhh, the name of this blog!

Posted in Europe, USA by Ulf on November 5, 2008

I forgot to tell you about the name of this blog. Well, I want to see the United States of America. All of them. So far, I have seen 6 of them:

52statesin8months_status_081105

(How can I include SVG drawings in this WordPress blog?)

EDIT: Pingu just reminded me of a small design problem: When I counted 52 states, I included Germany and Great Britain as I have been there on November 1st during my flight. However, the plane from Stuttgart to London probably went over France and Belgium while the plane from London to Philadelphia definitely flew over Ireland. As I also count the states which I have seen from high above, this blog should probably be called “55 States in 8 Months“. Or maybe even 56 in the case the plane also crossed Luxembourg?

Another edit: Our plane also passed Canada and Greenland. So thats 58 States now. I really screwed it up when choosing the name in the first place.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. think you can chack the OS so yo should have a clue said, on November 9, 2008 at 11:39 am

    http://techrageo.us/2007/04/07/php-and-wordpress-svg-basics/

  2. Anne said, on November 9, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    What about the states you change planes in, so you only visit the airport?! Do they belong to “I’ve seen it from a plane?” This category doesn’t really makes sense to me, also regarding the naming problem you discussed in this blog. I guess a category “I’ve seen the airport”, would do a better job and solve the name-problem ;)

    PS: And by the way, you suck! Why didn’t you tell us about your blog?! Stupid guy!

  3. ulf84 said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    @ Tobi:
    (I just guess that you’re Tobi, I don’t know anyone else who would use really strange operating systems. But I’m afraid I don’t know how to check your OS, so I can’t be certain.)
    I will try uploading the SVG for the next update on my map.

    @ Anne:
    I think it would not be fair to create a third category for states where I’ve only seen the airport. I mean, I have not seen much of Maryland, too. Actually I will see more of Georgia then of Maryland once I change planes there (in about two weeks).

  4. Paul said, on November 10, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Hey Ulf,
    just found your blog!
    I just bought a car, so I am thinking about road trips now.
    If I find time I try to pull off:
    Vancouver -> Seattle -> Eureka -> San Francisco -> Los Angeles ->Las Vegas -> Salt Lake City -> Vancouver

    That’s already a 5000 km tour and 7 states… but for you I would cross the boarder to wyoming too ;)

  5. Alexandra said, on November 17, 2008 at 4:49 am

    With your ambitions of visiting this number of states, you shoud have booked the flight back to Germany going West… Maybe You could visit about 70 states then?
    I have to say, I think it is cheating…
    Btw, your flight route to London will have largely depended on the pricing policy of the national air traffic agencies in charge of the sectors of the potential different flight routes. I could imagine it is more expensive to travel through many different countries using more air navigation service providers than necessary. So I have to dissapoint you, you probably flew from German air space dirctly to U.K airspace not event travelling through any others…

  6. ulf84 said, on November 17, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Hey Alex! That’s an interesting point. If I had taken my GPS antenna with me I might have tried to find out (supposed these devices get enough signals through a small airplane window).
    I think it was Stefan Weigel who once had a link to an live air navigation website. They offered a map with the locations of all the planes in German airspace. Maybe we can find it out this way.

    This website supports your argument:
    http://amras.boerse-express.com/pages/676109/newsflow

    However, from what Wikipedia says, there is a centralized air traffic control organization for the BeNeLux states (it’s called EUROCONTROL). They even control the upper air space in northern Germany. Therefore I still hope that I can count these states Benelux states :-)


Leave a Reply

