52 States in 8 Months

What Americans do with leaves

Posted in Newark, USA by Ulf on November 5, 2008

This morning I went past a house with a tree which lost all of its leaves. The guy who lives there used to put all leaves onto the road (he did this yesterday, I saw him doing it). His yard looks really nice now. However, all the leafage was on the road now. That seemed a little absurd to me:

bild3313

I mean … what if everybody would do so? It would take just a couple of days and the whole street would be covered with green stuff (or … more like orange stuff). That would be awful for bikers such as me. And even cars have a much longer braking distance if there are wet leaves on the road. Also, the next storm would carry all those leaves back onto the house owners green. So, I really thought that putting the leaves onto the street was stupid.

But just a few minutes later, a truck went by which had just one dedication: to clean the roadside. bild3315

This was really surprising to me. The truck really came just in that special moment when I thought about the guy who put all his leaves onto the street. You know, this is one of the moments when you get self-doubt. I should be less absolute in what I think about others.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcel said, on January 25, 2009 at 9:30 am

    @your last line:

    always a good idea :P


Leave a Reply

