52 States in 8 Months

Adventskalender: Was gefällt dir am meisten an Weihnachtsmärkten?

Posted in Adventskalender by Ulf on December 4, 2008

What do I like best about Christmas markets? They offer nice opportunities to buy gifts for those who already have everything they need. You can get so many useless gadgets there (I really like the German word “Gedöns” for this). That’s something I like about them. And I always appreciate it if someone asks me to join him/her to go to such a Christmas market. But that’s more about the other person and not about the market itself.

And I like the associations I have when thinking about Christmas markets. These are large drops of snow slowly falling down while there are already a couple of inches on the ground. You can see your own breath in the air and still you don’t feel cold. At least it’s like that in my dreams. The reality probably doesn’t come close to it in times of global warming.

I like the glühwein, the bratwurst and the currywurst — and if I ever make it to a Christmas market here in the US, I’ll try to get those buy asking for it in German ;-). If you really want to drive me envious, please send me a photo with you holding a bratwurst in one hand and a cup of glühwein in the other ;-).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. steffi said, on December 4, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Damned!

    A Glühwein and a Bratwurst is EXACTLY what I got on The Christmas Market in Belfast (and both booths were run by Germans!). However, I didn’t take a picture to prove it…

  2. ulf84 said, on December 4, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Aaaaaahh… I’m jealous anyway! ;-)

  3. chrissi said, on December 5, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I’ll go to the christmas market here in Wernigerode with my parents tomorrow (first time visiting both since I moved here). But I prefere the sweet stuff above sausages and never liked alcohol anyway. ^^’


Leave a Reply

