52 States in 8 Months

Adventskalender: Wie sieht dein Wunschzettel aus?

Posted in Adventskalender by Ulf on December 5, 2008

How does my wish list for Christmas look like? Well, I do not write these things down, so my wish list only exists in my mind. And even there it is not a list. It’s more like a number of situations in which I thought about things that I’d like to have. Mmmh, this does not sound very precise either. Actually, my minded wish list consists more of the situations when I really told someone else about my wishes.

So, what is actually on my wish list?

  • I told my grandparents that I don’t have an umbrella. It does not make much sense to carry an umbrella to the US, but you can be sure that I will have an umbrella once I’m back in Stuttgart. (In the last years I used an half-way broken umbrella that was laying around in the kitchen of our dormitory.)
  • When my mother asked me about my wishes for Christmas, I told her that I need my own torque wrench (“Drehmomentschlüssel”) one day. You use that thingy to fix screws with a desired torque (for the wheels on my car, I always take about 125 Nm).

How does my wish list for Christmas look like? Well, now I’ve written it down and published it on my blog. You can actually see how my wish list looks like. It consists of 107 words and 443 black letters on white ground. When I wrote it, it was typed in Arial or some similar sans-serif font. Now as it is published, it seems the font has changed.
My wish list has a black bullet next to each wish. I really like those black bullets.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. steffi said, on December 5, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Ulf,

    “… It consists of 107 words and 443 black letters on white ground. When I wrote it, it was typed in Arial or some similar sans-serif font. Now as it is published, it seems the font has changed.
    My wish list has a black bullet next to each wish. I really like those black bullets.”

    ??

    Whatever you’ve had for breakfast, DO NOT EAT IT AGAIN!

    ;-)

    Thank you,
    Steffi

  2. ulf84 said, on December 5, 2008 at 9:21 am

    hehe :-)

  3. Pingu said, on December 5, 2008 at 10:51 am

    “When I wrote it, it was typed in Arial or some similar sans-serif font. Now as it is published, it seems the font has changed.”

    Yes, I agree, DON’T EAT THAT STUFF AGAIN – it makes you express your ideas imprecisely. The font does not only “seem to have changed”, it actually changed to Georgia. I hope whatever you ate didn’t blur your vision or mind so that you really couldn’t tell apart a sans-serif typeface (are you sure it was not Helvetica? :)) from a serif one ;).

  4. ulf84 said, on December 5, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    This font is called “Georgia”? Hey, why don’t they have one called “Delaware”???
    At least the letters on the box with the cereals which I had for breakfast were neither Helvetica nor Georgia, maybe they were written in the Delaware font.

  5. ulf84 said, on December 5, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    and btw: I really expected chrissi instead of Pingu to make a comment on the fonts, so this was a surprise :-).

  6. […] auf. Sari präsentierte uns ein ganzes Kunstwerk, in das sie ihren Wunschzettel einbettete. Ulf hingegen wählte eine rein rationale Form zur Beschreibung seiner Wünsche. Und ich entschuldige […]

  7. chrissi said, on December 7, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Was not sure which serif font it was – in the internet you usually find arial and times, for webmasters can be sure this font to be existant on their visitors pcs. ;)
    Sorry to have disappointed your expectations. ^^’


Leave a Reply

