52 States in 8 Months

I’m really proud of my parents today.

Posted in Forreign blogs by Ulf on December 8, 2008

wolfYesterday afternoon when I read the blog of a friend of mine, I hit a link to a blog of a girl called Juliane. She was writing about the tradition of keeping the first names in one family over several generations. She does not like this tradition, I however do like it. That is probably because, up to today, I thought that my parents broke this tradition in our family when they chose a name for me.

My grandfather was called “Adolf” just as my great-grandfather was called “Adolf”. In 1953 when my father was born, he was given the name “Jens Adolf” (for an obvious reason regarding German history). When I was born in late 1984, the name Adolf still was not very popular, wolves20213so my parents decided to call me just “Ulf” without any middle name. At least this is what I knew up to now.

While I was writing a comment for Jü’s blog I read the Wikipedia article on Adolf. It says that Adolf stands for “noble wolf”. Well, here I am! Ulf also means wolf, so my parents did not break the tradition and I still have kind-of-an-Adolf in my name! I can very well live without this beautification of nobility! Dear parents, you made a good choice with a nice, well-hidden gimmick :-)

PS: We also have snow over here in Delaware since Saturday. That seems to be just be right climate for an Ulf. ;-)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kalifornientom said, on December 9, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    :D … epic!
    .
    p.s. i adapted your profile accordingly ;)

  2. Alexandra said, on December 11, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Hm. Here’s a thougth: Does your name translate to Urban in Swiss German? Anyway, here’s some more suggestions about the meaning of your name http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=ulf
    I have to say I like your own explanation better, and great fotos (Did you take them in Delaware, or steal them on the net?)!

  3. Ulf said, on December 11, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Thank you! :-)

    I actually have two more possible sources for my name. As my father is a pilot, he might have thought about an “Ultraleichtflugzeug”. However, the common shortcut for this is UL and not ULF. The other possible source is “Unsere Liebe Frau” which seems to be another name for Maria. Well, it don’t believe in this. I stick to the wolfs :-).

    PS: I stole the pics from the web, but I have linked the source. Just click on the pictures.


Leave a Reply

