52 States in 8 Months

The British, money and a haircut

Posted in Newark by Ulf on December 23, 2008

I went to a local barber shop today and got a haircut. Normally I would not tell you about this, put a few remarkable things happened:

    haircut

  • The hairdresser asked me if I’m from Britain (because of my accent). This is already the second time I was asked if I’m from Britain! I take that as a compliment :-). However, there has also been a situation a couple of weeks ago when I only spoke about two sentences to someone on the street who then said “Auf Wiedersehen”.
  • In the US they also have the tradition to close barber shops on Mondays. The shop I went to however closes on Saturdays as most students are still drunk on that day (well, the lady obviously found some nicer words for this *g*). The best business day of the week is the Friday when all students want to be prepared for the week-ends.
  • This one is for Markus: The normal man’s rate at the barber shop was $15. But the lady said that she would make it $2 off since she didn’t do any work on the top ;-). This is the first time I ever got a discount at the barber’s! (I refused this offer and gave a tip instead.)

bild3910 bild3903

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on January 4, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Falsches Betriebssystem Ulf!!!!


Leave a Reply

