52 States in 8 Months

The states I’ve seen so far… (Thanks to Delta Air Lines!)

Posted in USA by Ulf on December 23, 2008

Right before I start my Christmas journey, here are the states that I’ve seen so far. Don’t worry, there will be more blog posts about the Hawaii holiday. This is just to make sure I don’t forget it.
In green color I could add the states of Maryland, Florida, Georgia and Hawaii. From the plane to Florida I’ve also seen Virginia and North Carolina. The plane from Atlanta to Honolulu took me over Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, Utah, Nevada and California. On the way back to Atlanta we additionally flew over Arizona, New Mexico and Texas. Finally, we took South Carolina on the flight from Atlanta to Philadelphia. That’s 18 new states altogether since the last time I showed you the map.

52statesin8months_status_081201

You’ll probably ask yourself why the flight track from Atlanta to Honolulu differs from the return flight. Well, I can’t tell you the reason, you’ll have to ask Delta about this. However, when we were flying over California on the way to Hawaii, I still remember that we went over a city and I tried to figure out which one it was. It turned out to be Oakland, as a couple of seconds later, I saw both the Richmond-San Rafael Bridge and the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco from 40,000 ft above sea level :-).

On the way back however, we were crossing California near Los Angeles. I could not see that much as it was cloudy and still dark outside, but they had these nice computer screens in the plane. They were displaying the current speed, the air temperature and also the current plane coordinates.

PS: Why do they route the flights over large cities? I mean, California is large! So why do we fly over LA or SF instead of some uninhabitated place? Do they want to be close to runways, just in case of emergency? Or do the airlines cross the cities deliberately to make people remember that those cities have airports (to make people go by plane)?

Leave a Reply

