52 States in 8 Months

I got the keys again!

Posted in University stuff by Ulf on January 13, 2009

The last time I applied for keys it took the department about a month to decide about my request. Since they planned to relocate our group in these days, I applied for a set of keys for another room.

This time the department was faster. They needed just 2.5 weeks which is reasonable if you consider that the offices were closed during the Christmas break. Good job!

bild4841

So, right now I have to carry seven keys around. Four of them will open different doors in our lab. One is for the bike, and I need another two of them once I’m home. Seven keys, and none of them belongs to a car! That is ridiculous!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. keymaker said, on January 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    …you are aware of that copying your keys ist now a quite simple task?
    (at lesast the first three ones)
    (and for the others unsharp masking is your friend…)

  2. Ulf said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    YEAH!!! Tobi is back! :-)

    No, actually I was totally unaware of people duplicating keys just from random photos on some web pages. But you’re right, it is of course possible!

    Have you ever heard about a case where this really happened?

    Maybe I should take an even better picture of one of the keys and start some contest:
    $100 for the first one who sends me a working duplication of our lab key which was created only using a photo.


Leave a Reply

