52 States in 8 Months

A special meal: I tried an avocado

Posted in Meals by Ulf on February 12, 2009

bild4853A few days ago I had a special meal: My roommate Alvaro (he is from Colombia) gave me an avocado. The Latin name of that fruit is “Persea americana”, so you can guess that it’s more common here than in Europe.

Actually, Alvaro eats one avocado a day. So that should give you an impression of how widespread the fruit seems to be in Alvaro’s home country. He told me to bring some salt, so that’s what I did. However, he did not tell me what parts of the avocado to eat and what parts not to eat. This time the German Wikipedia filled the gap:

Während die Schale und der Kern der Frucht nicht genießbar sind, ist das Fruchtfleisch um den großen Kern sehr nahrhaft.

So, I finally started eating it. I must admit that once I opened the avocado, I knew that I had already eaten one before. Maybe it was on Hawaii, there were just so many fruits around, I don’t remember them all.

The avocado is a very special fruit. It does not really taste like a fruit. It is more like a mixture of butter and oat. But this probably makes it a good staple food.

bild4854 bild4855

Anyway, following good old German tradition, I’ll stick to bread, apples and potatos :-).

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elke said, on February 12, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Yes, you’ve eaten one on our trip through the U.S.A in 1996. We made it warm. It was not too bad :)

  2. Tommy said, on February 12, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Avocados are awesome! They make guacamole out of it. Soooo yummy!!! :)

  3. Fabi said, on February 12, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    As a recommendation for the next one: I like eating avocado with salt, pepper and lime (or lemon, if you’ve got no lime at hand), very tasty (at least for me). You can also add small prawns if you like them, then there is something more than only avocado ;)

  4. Mila said, on February 13, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Ist nicht so als gäbs das net in Schland… das Problem ist nur dass der Stückpreis bei fast 1,80€ liegt zur Zeit!!!
    Ansonsten würd ich Avocados immer in Quesadilla stecken (aber aus Tortillas de harina)…

    Hach, jetzt vermiss ich Mexiko. :(


Leave a Reply

