52 States in 8 Months

Help! Where is my antiderivative?

Posted in Diploma thesis by Ulf on February 27, 2009

I guess the math is right now taking revenge on my not-listening in the Rummler class. I need to solve three indefinite integrals for my thesis, but I don’t really get any further:

int123

If anyone has a clue how to antidifferentiate them, I would be really happy to see your ideas! I only have to get rid of the large integral sign. The primitives of f(t) itself can be considered as known:
fsThe same applies to all derivatives of f(t), so all f'(t) and f”(t) in the solution are fine.

PS: One of my bros from MD just discovered this and that. At least the first one is a “MUST WATCH”! Unfortunately though, this doesn’t really help me with those integrals.

EDIT: Christoph, a fellow student who is in Zürich right now, spent an hour on my integrals. He did not find a solution, so I guess there isn’t any. However, I tried to model my crane in a polar coordinate system, and the first results look promising. Maybe I can antidifferentiate those functions?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on February 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Well, not Ulf is the time to contact the “Integrationsservice” :D

  2. Anne said, on February 28, 2009 at 6:31 am

    lol… this video is so stupid!

  3. Ulf said, on February 28, 2009 at 9:44 am

    @Martin: You’re right! We didn’t I think about this myself?

    @Anne: Which one? I actually like them both :P

  4. Din Mor said, on March 1, 2009 at 5:16 am

    Wenn weder Christoph noch Du die Lösungen für diese Integrale rauskriegt, schafft es dieser obskure Integrationsservice auch nicht. Vergiss den Kran und bau eine solide Rampe für die wackeligen Container…

  5. Ulf said, on March 1, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Moin Mum!
    Christoph ist dieser “obskure Integrationsservice”. Wir hatten ihm damals ein Schild namens “Integrationsservice Kandetzki” an die Zimmertür geklebt. :-)

    Die Idee mit der Rampe ist gut. Wenn beim Kran alle Seile reissen, dann komme ich darauf zurück. Glücklicherweise habe ich soetwas wie einen Seilriss nicht modelliert, insofern kann ich recht sicher sein, dass mein Modell mich davor bewahrt.


Leave a Reply

