52 States in 8 Months

+++ Weight warning! +++

Posted in Meals by Ulf on March 6, 2009

In the end of January, this was my weight:
bild5179

Google says, 154 lbs would be 69.7 kg. I was so happy when I saw this, I immediately decided to take that photo. That was the first time since … well, probably about 12-15 years that my weight was less than 70kg!

One month later, on February 28, I was shocked again. At that time I didn’t even hit the 150lbs line anymore when stepping onto the scale. My weight dropped to less than 68kg. That really is too little. I’m missing the lofty feeling of carrying vast amounts of kinetic energy around while moving. Or when I’m walking up some stairs, I always remember that I’m just lifting 68kg. That basically means that I’m almost not doing any work at all, so lightweight people are lazy. I don’t want to weight less than 70kg.

bild5720

To find out about the measurement errors, I tried another scale. The mechanical one measured … well, something between 149.5lbs and 152.5lbs, with average values near about 151lbs. I do therefore assume that the static offset between both scales is about 1kg, while the mechanical scale has an additional statistical error of about 2 lbs.

bild5623 bild5624 bild5625

Still, my room mates say that the digital scale shows less than those scales at airport check-in counters, so doing multiple measurements with the mechanical scale and taking their average value might be more reliable than believing what the digital scale says.

Maybe I’ll try to find out how the numbers from the digital scale depend on the battery’s state of charge. In the meanwhile, I’ll try to increase the number of meals and choose less healthy food. :-)

PS: Elke, wehe du wendest deinen Hautfarbensuchalgorithmus auf meine Füße an! ;-)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andreas said, on March 6, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Man merkt dass du in den USA kein Auto hast!

  2. Ulf said, on March 6, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Du hast vollkommen recht! Sonst hätte ich natürlich niemals eine Waage benutzt, sondern mich einfach ins Auto gesetzt und die Beschleunigung gemessen, und dann daraus auf meine Körpermasse zurückgerechnet.

    Der Vorteil einer solchen Massenbestimmung ist, dass man auf den ersten Blick sehr viel unabhängiger von der Gravitationskonstanten ist. Problematisch ist nur, dass die Gravitation auch den Luftdruck beeinflusst und damit wiederum das Drehmoment des Verbrennungsmotors…

  3. Mila said, on March 7, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    *rofl*… talk nerdy to me!

  4. Ulf said, on March 7, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    :-)


Leave a Reply

