52 States in 8 Months

Really strange weather in Newark, Delaware

Posted in Newark by Ulf on March 10, 2009

Just a few days ago I told you about a temperature drop which caused two days of snowfall here in Newark. Well, on Saturday just the opposite happened. I was still feeling very cold on Friday evening when I went to bed, and on Saturday morning I almost got a heat shock: The temperature had risen to roughly 23°C! At the same time there was still snow outside! Can you believe this?

bild5752
bild5756 bild5758

Please feel free to check the EXIF data. These three pictures were all taken within only four minutes…

Anyway, my Colombian room mates enjoy this temperature, and 74°F is still something which I can stand. And I like teasing Andi whenever it’s warmer here than in Palo Alto.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andreas said, on March 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Well, I think I that’s why I enjoy that weather is not what Google says but what it feels like when I go outside.
    Feel free to compare not only Google results but also some live webcam shots http://www.instacam.com/showcam.asp?id=STNFR&size=L
    Btw, as we are talking about what Google says, I will now take my sun glasses and walk over to the business school to listen to Google CEO Eric Schmidt

  2. Ulf said, on March 10, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Hehe, cool!
    If the US Vice President doesn’t visit Palo Alto, then the Google CEO is surely a good alternative ;-).

    btw: This is how Newark looks like: http://www.udel.edu/TheGreen/
    I’ve just compared the two pictures. The average RGB value of Palo Alto is [72, 81, 84] while the average color of Newark is [130, 134, 135]. This means that Newark is 68% brighter than Palo Alto. The east coast is where people should wear sunglasses ;-).

  3. Pingu said, on March 10, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    And here’s the contribution from the south: 21 °C at 22:48 local time (roughtly 70 °F), and it has been a lot warmer during the day, I’m sure we had more than 24 °C :-)

  4. Andreas said, on March 12, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    great calculation, Ulf

  5. Ulf said, on March 12, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    :-D


Leave a Reply

