52 States in 8 Months

Wednesday is Chinese food day

Posted in Meals by Ulf on March 11, 2009

Chen Xi, one of my Chinese office mates, orders some Chinese food every Wednesday. I decided to do the same, so I’ll try another Chinese meal every week. The first one was “spicy potatoes”. I’ve chosen this because I could not imagine that Chinese people eat potatoes at all. I mean, the Americans brought the potatoes to Europe and not to Asia! (Wikipedia says the largest amount of potatoes per capita is grown in Europe while China and India are planting more potatoes in absolute numbers.)

So, this is how it looked like:

bild5733 bild5734

My prejudice concerning the Chinese use of potatoes was completely reconfirmed when I discovered that the side dish was indeed rice, and that the potatoes were sliced and served as a main dish. Actually, I didn’t even recognize that there were any potatoes at all ;-). I asked another Chinese for a translation of what the inscription on the styrofoam box said. Qi also said it would be potatoes, so I guess that’s just what it was :-).
I don’t want to create a wrong impression. I really liked the meal a lot! And I ate almost everything with my chopsticks, and Chen Xi was surprised about my speed :-). However, I must admit that I did not hold them the way I was supposed to. I’m looking forward to next week’s Chinese meal!

PS: Why on earth is the plural form of “potato” written as “potatoes” and not just “potatos“? And why did I think that the translation for “Vorurteil” is “prejustice” and not “prejudice”?

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on March 11, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    @PS: Maybe because you wanted to use “stereotype”? ;)

  2. Ulf said, on March 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Maybe, maybe not?
    My three Webtranslators are unanimous:
    http://www.dict.cc/?s=vorurteil
    http://dict.leo.org/ende?search=vorurteil
    http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vorurteil –> en.wikipedia.org-Link

    Having now read http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stereotyp I think you’re right.
    After all, I didn’t want to say that it’s good or bad…

  3. Pingu said, on March 11, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Und wo sind die action-shots wo man dich live mit chopsticks hantieren sieht?

  4. Ulf said, on March 11, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Beim uebernaechsten chinesischen Essen :-).

  5. Caro said, on March 12, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Machen wir dann einen Wettbewerb wer besser und schneller mit Stäbchen essen kann????

  6. Ulf said, on March 12, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Deal! Selbst wenn ich verliere klingt das nach lecker Essen :-D

  7. Anne said, on March 13, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Hey,
    your post reminded me a lot of this video:
    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jennifer_8_lee_looks_for_general_tso.html

    which GuanLu was posting a couple weeks ago:
    http://zhangdynasty.wordpress.com/2009/02/11/why-is-chinese-food-like-linux/

    It’s worth watching!
    Enjoy :D

  8. Ulf said, on March 13, 2009 at 8:22 am

    thx, it’s great!
    I’ll show it to my Chinese office mates in a few minutes :-)

  9. […] Posted in Meals by Ulf on April 25, 2009 When I first talked about my Chinese meals, Caro proposed a chopstick eating challenge, and Pingu asked for some action scenes. To give you an impression of […]


Leave a Reply

