52 States in 8 Months

I like those big milk jugs … well, not what you have in mind ;-)

Posted in USA by Ulf on March 21, 2009

“Buy big, save big!”
“Great size, great deal!”

These are some of the slogans you’ll find on many different products here in the US. However, you normally don’t even have a choice. The normal coke bottle size is 2L, milk is sold in gallons (or in rare cases also in 1/2 gallon bottles, which is still twice as much as the German standard). You usually buy something between 12 (=2×6) and 30 eggs (=5*6, or 2.5 dozen) in one box, but the exact sizes vary. I’ve also seen quantities of 15, 18, 24 or 25 eggs. Only cereals are sold in small boxes. The normal corn flakes are in 3 lbs bags and most of the sweeted ones are in 1-2lbs units.

The following pictures show a gallon of milk, an 1.3kg box of soft spread (similar to margarine, I couldn’t figure out why they don’t call it margarine) and packages of about 5.5 lbs of  ground meat.

bild3886 bild5666 bild5664

To you want to be scared? One of those ground beef packs containts 5.63lbs which is about 2.6kg. Normally it costs $25.28, but if you have a customer card you’ll only pay $10.08. That is nearly 1/3 of the original price! And the meat is not even old: I took this picture three days before the meat would exceed its “sell-by” date. I tend to believe that I just found the first food product (which I would buy) that is cheaper in the US than in Germany! (Google calculates 3.06 Euro/kg)

Some statistics about those discounts you get if you use a customer card (that means: if you let them track you):
During my last three shopping tours I “saved” on average 31.7% on the nominal price. Altogether these “savings” sum up to $89.09 since the beginning of the year (they print this number on every sales slip). That means that I paid roughly $210 for my foods in about 5 weeks. Wow! But I think it’s alright if I keep in mind that this includes both my breakfast and my lunch (which is usually just bread).

PS: The last time I went shopping I wanted to take a picture of a large box of eggs. Well, when I went there, I ran across some 2.3kg box of Soft Spread. Wow!

bild5679 bild5679

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tommy said, on March 22, 2009 at 7:01 am

    “Margarine”? You won’t sell a product with such a name over there, right?
    It needs to sound at least as awesome as “soft spread”, or even better: “I can’t believe it’s not butter” (<— seen that one yet?) … anyway, enjoy! … :)

    Greez from the tiny-package-land!
    El Tommy

  2. Fabi said, on March 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

    You don’t need 2,3kg Soft Spread?!? :D Well, sometimes, big is “useful”. For Thanksgiving we had a 22lbs turkey – I doubt you would get a 10kg turkey in German supermarkets. – Let’s say it was enough for us anyway ;).

    And the famous customer cards… as our US Privacy&Security teacher told us (correspondingly): “Privacy becomes an expensive good which has to be paid for.”

    About the ground meat pricing: Try broiling the same weight of standard ground meat in the US and in Germany. From the much higher amount of water that comes out of the US one, you can guess where the price difference is ;) – By the way, you also notice how small burger patties become when you broil them.
    [Okay, for our test we unfairly used higher quality meat in Germany, so the test should be redone with cheap German meat or more expensive US meat.]

    Greez, Fabi

  3. […] Hamburger Helpers Posted in Meals, USA by Ulf on March 31st, 2009 When I told you how cheap ground beef is in the US, I bought about 2.5kg of it. I didn’t want to make 2.5kg of Klopse or a similar […]


Leave a Reply

