52 States in 8 Months

Goodbye old bicycle!

Posted in Newark by Ulf on March 23, 2009

Last week on Sunday I dismantled the old bike. I could fix the rear fender to my current bike (the front fender unfortunately was too small). I also removed the tires and the front wheel since they still seem to be alright.

bild5655 bild5662

Now I only have to find a place to get rid of the scrap metal which was made in China.

PS: Some pieces of my current Korean bicycle also break apart. The front gear changer broke off (non-repairable), and as I told you some time ago, one of the rear sprockets is also broken. Then a screw from the rear gear changing mechanism came off. However, after I found the cogwheel, I was able to repair it.
At least I can still drive it safely, everything else doesn’t matter.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susi said, on March 24, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Es tut mir echt leid, aber mir bricht das Herz, wenn ich mein so Rad sehe, was mich 5 Monate durch die Gegend gefahren hat :(.

  2. Ulf said, on March 26, 2009 at 2:39 am

    *schnief*

    Aber troeste dich:
    Die Accessoires sind echt top! Schloss, Sattel und Schutzblech leisten gute Dienste, und die Lampe hab ich sogar mit in den Grand Canyon genommen :-).

  3. […] Broken sprockets revisited. Posted in Newark by Ulf on April 21, 2009 Changing gears with my current bicycle gets harder and harder since another sprocket started falling apart (not the one I told you about earlier). Unfortunately, the chain always tends to stay right where I don’t want it to be: in the place where I’m out of gear. And as you know, my front gear changer is completely broken. […]


Leave a Reply

