52 States in 8 Months

Can you freeze milk?

Posted in Las Vegas to El Paso, Newark by Ulf on April 22, 2009

Two days before our spring break holiday started, I bought a new gallon of 2% fat milk and opened it. Stupid me, two days are not enough to seriously use a gallon of milk! I ate cereals for breakfast and dinner, but there was no chance to get rid of it.

Therefore I decided to use the milk for an experiment: Can milk be frozen? Okay, obviously it can. But will it still be tasty after unfreezing it?
bild7836

The simple answer is: Yes, absolutely no problems at all.
I neither saw nor tasted a difference to fresh milk. Especially there were no clumpy pieces in the milk (as someone else who did this experiment said). It was really just fine.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on April 22, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Ulf!!! Why did you unfreeze* it? If you would have stirred some cocoa in there you would have ended up with some perfectly fine chocolate ice! ;)

    * I thought I’m to lazy to look it up, because somehow I didn’t expect unfreeze to be the opposite of freezing but LEO says it’s an option. Btw. :)

  2. Tommy said, on April 22, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    NEEIIN!!! Ich will nicht, dass Ulf sich sein Euter entzündet! … lol

  3. Ulf said, on April 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Ich kann ja zukuenftlich meine Cereals mit Cola essen, oder?

  4. Martin said, on April 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Glaubst du den Eutern der Co(a)labaeren ergeht es besser?

    (aaaaah is noch nichtmal ne Woche her seit René’s Besuch und ich lass mich schon zu solchen spruechen hinreißen :D )

  5. mascha said, on April 22, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    “sein Euter entzündet” das ist eklig

    gross gross gross!

  6. Ulf said, on April 22, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    omg is der schlecht -.-

  7. Mascha said, on April 22, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    huuuuh!??!?!
    omg is the bad?

  8. Martin said, on April 23, 2009 at 1:33 am

    He was referring to the “comment, joke” I made o:)

  9. Ulf said, on April 23, 2009 at 7:06 am

    “omg” is an abbreviation for “Oh mein Gott”, or for “RC” (religious correctness, does that exist?) maybe “Ach du meine Güte”.

    “is der schlecht” should be “Der [Witz] ist schlecht.”
    Yes, I was referring to Martin’s joke. Which in fact is no joke. It is an imitation of what one of our fellow students (Rene) says to make us laugh. Sometimes we laugh about his jokes, sometime we laugh about him ;-). Just kiddin.

  10. Tommy said, on April 23, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    also ich hab mich weggeschmissen. :D … echt jetzt!

  11. Mascha said, on April 24, 2009 at 1:32 am

    darling,
    I know what omg stands for! but I like accchhh du MEINE guete better!
    I thought Ulf-er-stein was responding to my comment, thats why I was confused, but apparently the world does not revolve around me like I like to assume.

  12. Ulf said, on April 24, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Sorry Mascha ;-).

    I actually replied to Martin’s comment before having read yours. Since you wrote your comment with a different email address than you usually use, I had to approve it. So your comment just wasn’t there when I replied to Martin.


Leave a Reply

