52 States in 8 Months

This is election year in Germany!

Posted in Europe by Ulf on May 14, 2009

A friend of mine reminded me of the Wahl-o-mat, a computer program which helps you to compare your own opinion to the statements of different political parties. If I consider only the major parties in Germany, I end up with this result:
wahlomat_primaer
I mentioned earlier that I thought about voting for the FDP and wasting any Erststimme by electing the Gruene so that I don’t have to support the CDU or the SPD. This result confirms my old plan, however I decided not to vote for the Green party as long as they rule out “Jamaica coalitions”. Oh, I wish the Green party would focus on their great ecological aims instead of proposing leftwing nonsense.

The Wahl-o-mat also compares your opinion with what the smaller parties propose. I compared the results with them all, and it turned out that only one small party has a higher compliance rate with my personal opinion than the FDP. It’s the “FAMILIE“. They publish their program here.
wahlomat_sekundaer
I’m seriously thinking about voting for the Familienpartei. Could your, dear readers, also include this party if you run the Wahl-o-mat and tell me what you think about them?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. steffi said, on May 14, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Hi Ulf,
    thanks so much for this post! Everytime I forget the url/name of this website and I depend on other people to remind me again.

    Well, I first tested my compatibility with the `normal parties’. My ranking was: FDP, Grüne, Linke (wtf?!), SPD, CDU, CSU

    I don’t consider voting for Die Linke at all, but I was a little bit shocked. Or happy? Maybe there are not to bad after all?

    Afterwards I checked some smaller Parties. The ranking: Familie, Piraten (Arrarr), Frauen (There were no `female’ questions in it, were there?), Violetten, Tierschutzpartei, Grauen, REP, DVU (Whew, good news!)

    The last three have a very low rating what really made me happy.

    Finally I vompared the first three of both sets and that’s what I’ve got: FDP, Familie, Grüne, Linke, Piraten, Frauen

    Well, I don’t know yet, what I’ll vote for but I know what it won’t be. Thank’s for that!

  2. Ulf said, on May 14, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Wow, sounds like FDP+Grüne+Familie is Germany’s next Top-Coalition :-)

    (Although we might not really be representative for all Germans…)

  3. Martin said, on May 14, 2009 at 11:44 am

    My overall Topranking is (last one might be wrong):
    PIRATEN; PSG; VOLKSENTSCHEIDE; Die Frauen; GRÜNE; FDP; PBC; Volksabstimmung;

    3 partys under the Top 4 I never heard of. And it looks like the PIRATEN will get a vote as I was secretly thinking about^^.

    Major parties + 2 extra:
    PIRATEN, GRUENE, FDP, FAMILIE, DIE LINKE, SPD, CDU, CSU

    It’s interesting to see that even without the BS the CDU and SPD are doing right now it tells me that we don’t agree on a lot of points :). I should do a lowest ranking also. :)

  4. Anne said, on May 19, 2009 at 1:30 am

    I could only find the Wahl-O-Mat for the Europawahl.
    Is there already one for the Bundestagswahl?! Google wasn’t successful, but by reading all the comments I get the feeling that I oversaw it…

    suggestions?!

  5. scytale said, on May 19, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I think they will put it online after the European elections. Otherwise it would probably confuse at least some people… ;)


Leave a Reply

