52 States in 8 Months

Is eco-friendly traveling possible in the United States?

Posted in Rapid City and Yellowstone, USA by Ulf on May 16, 2009

bild8601Last week I received a postcard from Spain (Thank you, René!). This is René’s comment on photo on the postcard:

Eine Ansicht von Mitteldeutschland in 50 Jahren, wenn du mit deinem Audi/Airbus/Boeing weiter so viel CO2 ausstößt wie bisher *g*.

Alright, reasons enough for me to start a new journey! I’ll go to Iowa to visit some relatives; afterwards I’ll go to Rapid City to see the Mount Rushmore, and last on my list is the Yellowstone National Park. To make sure I don’t use any Audi, Airbus or Boeing I’ll only use trains and buses to get from one place to the other, so that’s Amtrak, Greyhound and Jefferson Lines. I have to go about 8000km, which is about one week of continuous traveling. I’ll be back around March 28.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. steffi said, on May 16, 2009 at 9:14 am

    You’ll be back around MARCH 28?? 2010 or 2011?

    Sure, going by bus takes a lot of time…. Good luck, dude!

  2. Mascha said, on May 16, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    LOL!!
    I was just thinking the same thing. I guess you won’t be going to the Die Fantastischen Vier concert after all…

  3. Ulf said, on May 16, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I made it to Iowa!
    I’ve just arrived in Osceola, IA, after about 30h in the hands of Amtrak.

    First impressions:
    – America is beautiful.
    – Even average Americans use Amtrak (’cause it’s cheap for the connections in the Plains).
    – The seats are more spacious than anything I knew from Europe.
    – The trains go between 60 and 70 mph which makes the ride even more comfortable.
    – Andi is right about the horns — luckily you don’t hear it from inside the coach.

    cu!
    Ulf

  4. […] Posted in Rapid City and Yellowstone by Ulf on May 28, 2009 A few weeks ago I told you about my my attempt to verify if eco-friendly traveling is possible in the United States. I’ve just returned from this trip, and I can give good news: Everything […]


Leave a Reply

