52 States in 8 Months

An empirical view on the swine flu

Posted in Newark by Ulf on May 25, 2009

Have I ever seen someone with the swine flu? No, of course not. Am I afraid of the swine flu? Haha. Does the swine flu have an impact on my life at all? — Yes, it does!

The first time I saw some real-life-impact of the swine flu at the University of Delaware was in our bathrooms and along the gangways. A bunch of anti-bacterial wet tissues have been distributed in our building.

bild8439 bild8441

I was wondering if it is a good idea to touch those yellow boxes or not. I mean, everybody uses the normal (dry) tissue dispensers at the walls. Only those who are afraid of the swine flu will use the special tissues. If being afraid of the swine flu correlates to having symptoms, then there might be a quite a high bacterial concentration on those boxes… ;-).

As you can see, I didn’t really care about those countermeasures. However, there is one thing which bugged me. They had closed the Carpenter Sports Building for a few days. Args. The swine flu prevented me from doing sports two times!

bild8481

Luckily it’s open again. Too bad I’m in a no-sports mood now.

Edit: Andi sent me a link to the “Higher Education H1N1 Flu Map“. Yeah :-)

Leave a Reply

