52 States in 8 Months

Is ecofriendly traveling possible in the US? — Revisited!

Posted in Rapid City and Yellowstone by Ulf on May 28, 2009

A few weeks ago I told you about my my attempt to verify if eco-friendly traveling is possible in the United States. I’ve just returned from this trip, and I can give good news: Everything worked just fine!
52statesin8months_status_090528

Since I didn’t use a plane I also got many new “green” states. I took a train from Delaware through Maryland to DC, then another one from DC through Pennsylvania, Ohio and Indiana to Chicago, Illinois, and a third train from Chicago to Osceola, Iowa. From then on I switched to buses. I visited relatives in Des Moines, Albert City and Storm Lake (all Iowa), spent a night in South Sioux City (say: “Soo City”), Nebraska and went through Sioux Falls (say: “Soo Falls”) to Rapid City, South Dakota. I went further west to Billings, Montana, where I started a discovery tour through America’s first National Park, the Yellowstone. I’ve seen both Wyoming and Idaho in that area.
On my way back from Billings, MT to Wilmington, DE I chose the cheapest bus ticket I could get, and that was about 2200 miles for $83. Awesome! And best of all: The bus went through Minneapolis, Minnesota and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Two new states! :-)

As you can see in my state overview, I’ve now seen more than 52 states in 8 months. Actually I’m counting 54 states in 7 months now! :-) :-) :-)

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fabi said, on May 28, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Wow, nice collection :) – However as I can see you have not yet been in the best of all states – California ;) This is of course not only my opinion because I lived there for some time, but because it indeed is a nice place to live and discover :)
    So there is some West Coast style to discover… unfortunately I’m not there any longer, so I cannot offer you a place to stay… :(

  2. Ulf said, on May 28, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    You’re already the third person today who tells me to go to California, and Andreas (who has decided to do his PhD there) is not even among them (yet). Maybe there really is something about it…?

  3. Martin said, on May 29, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Oregon Ulf, Oregon!

  4. Ulf said, on May 29, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Oregano? I’ve eaten that one, so I don’t have to go there.

  5. Andreas said, on May 29, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    thats only because I am to busy today…
    Our workshop with Nobel Prize Laureate needs my full attention :-)


Leave a Reply

