52 States in 8 Months

My last domestic trip

Posted in St. Louis and Columbus by Ulf on June 18, 2009

I’ve just finished my last domestic trip through the United States. I attended the 2009 American Control Conference in St. Louis, where I published my first paper :-). On my way back I visited some relatives in Columbus, Ohio. I have a lot of stories to tell, but at this point I’ll only mention two new states:

On my way to St. Louis I took the plane, and since the direct connection was awfully expensive I decided to take a flight from Philly to Detroit and from Detroit to St. Louis. Side effect: I’ve been to Michigan now! But I have only been in Michigan for less than a minute since my flight was late. Missouri itself is also green now, but I had seen it from a plane before, therefore Missouri doesn’t really count.

52statesin8months_status_090616

My overall state counter is now at 55 states in 7 months and 17 days. Mission successful, I can return to Germany next week!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on June 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Ulf you are missing Oregon completely! This is like an minus of 10 states for your count!!!

  2. Ulf said, on June 18, 2009 at 3:56 pm

  3. Anne said, on June 18, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    You know whats funny,
    I’ve nearly only been to the states in the US which are red or yellow on your map:

    Washington
    California
    Mississippi
    Louisiana

    So we should merge our maps to get an even greener one ;)

  4. Ulf said, on June 18, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Haha, amazing!! :-)
    Although I remember that you visited the MOMA, so you must have been in New York City, too ;-).

    When you looked out of the airplane window, did you see Oregon? If so, then we could even add that state to the list. Or, better idea: We could create a “visited by STK” map of the world. Martin would add Oregon, so I wouldn’t have to worry about that state anymore…

  5. Mila said, on June 19, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Congrats!

  6. Andreas said, on June 22, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I’m really disappointed that you haven’t visited CA. You will have to visit me next year or so!

  7. Ulf said, on June 22, 2009 at 9:57 am

    The 2011 American Control Conference will be somewhere near the West Coast. Might be a good opportunity!


Leave a Reply

