52 States in 8 Months

Homecoming Announcement

Posted in Europe, USA by Ulf on June 24, 2009

British_AirwaysMy time in the United States is almost over. I’ll arrive in Germany around noon today, then I’ll spend a few days in Lower Saxony. Starting July 1st, I’ll attend the University of Stuttgart again…

Last year in November Pingu asked me how long I would manage to publish a blog post every day, and when my rhythm would break down. Pingu, here is your answer: from now on, there will only be irregular updates to this blog. Although there a lot of this that I have to tell you about. I have to tell you about our flight over the Grand Canyon, about our hike down into the Canyon, tell you some more stories about what we did in Las Vegas. I rarely mentioned the trip which I did with my cousin; we’ve been to New York again, we’ve been to Maine and to Boston. In Boston I bought my own copy of the GPL license in the office of the Free Software Foundation, which I’m a member of right now. And of course we’ve played “Boston Tea Party“, throwing some tea into the Atlantic at the very place where some others had already done that in 1773. Then there was my trip to the Northwest: I stopped in Chicago to see the Cloud Gate, I visited some relatives in Iowa (I have never met people before who were so proud of being German — especially not in the center of the United States!), I was invited to the house of someone who lives on a golf course, I saw the Mount Rushmore and I had my finger on the launch button of a Minuteman II ICBM, I visited the Badlands, and of course the Yellowstone National Park (which is the first national park — every Delawarean has to go there *g*). I attended the American Control Conference in St. Louis and gave a talk, so I now have my first scientific publication. I visited some more relatives in Columbus, Ohio. That’s where they have the (replica) of the Santa Maria, which Columbus used to come … well, not to the United States, but that doesn’t matter ;-). And I have to tell you about a lot of trips to DC. I’ve been to almost all museums (they have a lot of them in DC!!), I was in the Capitol, in the Library of Congress, in the Bureau of Printing and Engraving (one of two places in the world where Dollar bills are legally made), I saw a spaceship called Enterprise and I visited the National Archives and had a look at the Strategic Bombing Survey files from World War II. That basically means that I read a couple of discussions why some places in Germany and France should be bombed, and how they looked before and after the attacks. There are so many things I could tell you about… I hope I’ll find the time to write about them all before I forget all these stories! Oh, there are also some trip in this area that I can tell you about. There was this list which mentioned the zip code areas with the highest income in the United States. You’ll find names such as Montchanin, Rockland, Yorklyn, and Greenville. All Delaware. All within bicycle-distance from Newark :-).

But before I tell you about all that, I’ll come back to Germany. Looking forward to seeing all of you!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on June 24, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Have a good flight, or hope you had one :). And MD is waiting for your visit ;)

  2. Pingu said, on June 24, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Congratulations to keeping up that posting rate. Very impressed! Hope you had a great time here in the US, even though you had to fulfill such a challenging task as keeping your posting rate up :-).

    Have a good flight and good luck back in Stuttgart. Looking forward to meet you there for a beer … or two … or … :)

  3. Die Mila said, on June 24, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Hey, welcome back!

    Nicht vergessen: In Eberdingen steht noch ne Tasche voll Souvenirs aus New York von dir :) (naja okay, hauptsächlich Plastikflaschen mit Sand drin :P )

  4. Andreas said, on June 25, 2009 at 4:06 am

    mein zip code ist immerhin noch auf Platz 100

  5. Martin said, on June 29, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Jetzt ist schon naechste Woche und immer noch kein Lebenszeichen.
    Option 1: Die Amis haben seinen Flug nach Guantanamo umgeleitet.
    Option 2: Ulfs leichtfertiger Umgang mit der Schweinegrippe hat den Deutschen Behoerden nicht gefallen.
    (Option 3: ging der Rueckflug auch wieder ueber London? Da gibts auch paar Moeglichkeiten was passiert sein koennte)

    Alle anderen Optionen lass ich mal weg. Ist ja offensichtlich das die Signifikant kleinere Wahrscheinlichkeiten haben. O:)

    PS: Der englische Spellcheck den ich gerade an habe bestaetigt mir zumindest die Richtigkeit der Worte: Option, London und Guantanamo. :) (und noch paar kleine andere)

  6. Ulf said, on July 2, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Option 3 ist möglich, denn der Rückflug ging über London.

    Die Lösung ist, dass ich noch nicht so richtig zur Ruhe gekommen bin, seit ich wieder in Deutschland bin. Weder in Staffhorst, noch in Stuttgart.

  7. Martin said, on July 3, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Magdeburg Ulf, total ruhig und schoen an der Elbe ;)


Leave a Reply

